Thinking about full-timing in the UK. How do you get around the legal issues of insurance, driving licence, etc, with no permanent address?

moz

Hey guys,

I'm new here, as you can see.

I live in the UK, and I'm thinking of moving out of my rented flat and living full-time in a motorhome.

I have some savings, enough to buy a vehicle with, and I am a self-employed website designer; As long as I have access to a computer and the internet, I can work.

I will most likely be aiming to build a stealth van from a nice large Ford Transit van or similar.

My reasons:
I love travelling, and I love the potential for adventure! I'm sick of living in the same place all the time.
I have travelled a bit in the past, and I just love it.
I have a lot of friends who live far from where I live, so I would love to be able to visit them.
I would like to own my home and not have to keep wasting money on rent, this is a good way to do just that.
There are also financial reasons; I think I could live very cheaply this way.

Obviously I have more reasons that these, and each of these has a lot more depth to it, but I'm sure most of you guys here will know what I'm talking about.
I do realize there will be difficulties, but since when is life ever 100% easy?

Anyway, so I'm trying to build a model in my mind of how this is going to work, before I go buying vehicles and terminating the lease on my flat!

As for buying and building a stealth van, I think I've got that covered, I'm fairly good at DIY and stuff, so that should be do-able, I have a driving license, so that's good, and some savings, and a source of income, and not too much family where I live (so not much anchoring me here)

However the first problem I've come up with is address... And I'm sure this is a piece of cake for you guys, but I still can't quite figure it out.
Most insurance companies, the DVLA, banks, etc, all require a residential address.