Want to go full time.... (and Hi)

josh

Hello everyone, this is my first post here, although I have been reading for a little while.

I am a mature student at St Andrew's University, and I am looking at living in an RV rather than renting. Rent there is crazy - best I have found is £700 a month for a house share. The problem is, after doing some calculations, it doesn't seem like going full time would actually save me any money. In fact, it might even cost me more than rent, so I was wondering if anyone had any ideas?

I would be planning to live in my RV for at least 5 years. Which is why personally I would need an RV, rather than a camper van. I have caravaned before, and a small space is totally fine for a week or two, but personally if this is my actual home I don't want to have to fold the bed into a table every morning for breakfast, and I would want a toilet and a shower. I wouldn't expect to use these every day, BUT, I would like the option for emergencies. Of course RVs cost about £40,000, so I would be looking at converting a small bus, coach, lorry, horse van e.c.t. myself, for a budget of about £10-15,000. This seems reasonable from research, but would require me to get a loan, for roughly £200-250 a month, depending on the specifics.

Which leads me to my problem. Parking. An RV/ bus / lorry is not easy to park, and wild camping will be difficult. In all honesty, I think wild camping in the same spot for 4 years is a little implausible whatever I drive. If it was 2 nights in one town, 2 nights in another I am sure I could find somewhere to tuck away, but after 4 years I expect people would begin to notice me!

Campsites would be perfect, but I have contacted about 10, and none of them are ideal. Most close over winter, which is exactly when I will be needing a place. One or two are open over winter, but are full. None are willing to take a full timer, and all of them are expensive. £25-30 a night, or £600 a month at a discount.