Retirement plan

Steve Wilson

Hi all,
I retired earlier this year and bought a motor home - a 7 metre long Fiat Ducato - and after a few long weekends in it to test the water I spent two months in Devon and Cornwall during the summer and really enjoyed it and found that I did not miss the four walls and possessions of my house. It is my first time in a motor home, but I have spent many holidays in tents of varying sizes and have always enjoyed the experience, though not always the weather! I am in the fortunate position of owning my own home, so my plan is to rent it out for six months, probably from the start of November, and then to take a ferry to Bilbao or somewhere near and spend the next month or so travelling south through Spain down to the coast and possibly then into Morocco. I will be travelling on my own, which is a bit daunting since my Spanish is fairly basic and would be interested to know if there are any well trodden routes that English speakers take to stop me from being too isolated. I don't want to travel through Spain in a kind of English bubble, but some idea of where I could meet up with other English speakers would be good.
I would appreciate any advice, encouragement or warnings from anyone out there who has experience of what I am about to let myself in for!

BwB

Hi Steve
Best advice? Just do it! Which you are, so that's a great start :)
Specific questions work best on this forum, you may not get a specific answer but even if the thread goes off-topic, it can sometimes be interesting. Sometimes :)
Keep us posted about what you're up to and we'll help where we can.

Steve Freeman

Welcome.
If you rent your house, that's great but unless it's to family, you can't use it for driving license, insurance, tax, credit cards and on, so you'll need another address, and need to be on the electoral roll there.
There are one or two people here that are big on Morocco who can tell you all about it.