Ovens

Discussion in 'Fulltimer's Motorhomes' started by Jemima Hymer, Dec 26, 2017.

1. Jemima Hymer

Jemima Hymer New Member

Hi

We bought our motorhome in early December and with it came a De' Longhi EO200W mini oven. Do any of you know anything about these - can the oven only be used on hook up? Or can they be adapted to use on the 12V? Thanks

2. BigMomma

BigMomma Well-Known Member

I am assuming that this is a freestanding item which has been left by the previous owners ? It would depend on what type of setup you have on the van with leisure batteries and an inverter, have you checked that the oven works (by plugging in to a socket with 240v) ? If it works on normal 240v but doesn't work when plugged in to van when not connected to EHU then you have your answer. I am not an expert with electrics, but other's on this forum are so I guess they will be along soon and provide a better answer. I know that you can get 'Inverters' connected through the Leisure Batteries that will power domestic items but generally you need more than the standard 1 or 2 battery setup on the van.

3. coolasluck

coolasluck Well-Known Member

Ovens in motorhomes are great if they are powered by gas. They are not suitable powered by electric unless on a campsite all the time and plugged in to your own supply. For 12 volt purposes you will need a 2000 watt inverter and a lot of batteries with a means to recharge those batteries. So as you can see it's not the best way forward. I would give it to a good home as it's more fitting for a bedsit. A better option would be a multi tasking microwave at 750 watts we have fulltiming friends who either cook with a petrol stove outside or just use a microwave they live off grid but have 5 panals.

4. chrisjones18

chrisjones18 Well-Known Member

Suppose it would be handy on ehu if you have the spare capacity and space to carry it.
    We have gas oven/grill and 4 rings.